The Ten Strands Of Progression

1. The Progression of the 4Cs

The ‘Learning Means the World’ Curriculum is underpinned by a whole school focus on four world issues:-  Conflict, Communication, Culture and Conservation.
There is a progression (EYFS, KS1, LKS2 and UKS2) within each of the 4Cs, as follows:-

CONFLICT – Sharing, Behaving Responsibly, Keeping the Peace, Stopping Fighting
COMMUNICATION – Listening, Talking Confidently, Exchanging Ideas, Explaining Clearly
CULTURE – Friendship, Respect, Understanding, Tolerance
CONSERVATION – Looking After Things, Being Thoughtful, Developing Global Awareness, Thinking Big.


2. The Progression of the Skills Ladder

The  Skills Ladder provides comprehensive coverage of all skills by curriculum area AND by year group. The skills from the Skills Ladder are mapped in within each theme, making it easy to chart progression and continuity across each phase and within each theme.

The subject skills included under the curriculum areas are particularly helpful for curriculum subject leaders who are looking to monitor progression and continuity across phases and year groups. Subjects included under the curriculum areas are:-
Expressive Arts - Art, Dance, Drama, Music
Science and Technology - Design Technology, Computing and Science
Place and Time - Geography, History
Mathematics - Maths
Communication – English, MFL, ICT
Health and Wellbeing - Physical Education, Personal Wellbeing
Faith and Community – R.E. and Citizenship


3. The Progression of Knowledge Building

Knowledge Building involves using our carefully planned progression of knowledge to ensure breadth and greater depth of learning within a subject.  Based on six distinct learning pillars for each subject, the knowledge builds on (EYFS, KS1, LKS2 and UKS2), using progressive cognitive blocks, linked to each pillar. These are then further applied to each history, geography and science themes in the form of knowledge statements that increase in complexity through the phase.


4. The Progression of the Learning Lexicon

The Learning Lexicon is a progression of essential generic learning vocabulary that is mapped into each year group from Pathfinders 1 to Navigators 1. The vocabulary is embedded through specific themes.


5. The Progression of the Learning Pathways

These are the four age groups (3-5, 5-7, 7-9, 9-11) with designated age-appropriate Learning Traits, which are worked out through the Thematic Units. Each Learning Pathway Trait has related skills which are deemed to be ‘soft skills’, as opposed to subject specific skills, and are progressive across the Learning Pathways:- Explorers > Pathfinders > Adventurers > Navigators. 


6. The Progression of the Concept Flow

Each concept is carefully placed into a sequence within the core subject(s) of each Thematic Unit. This sequence is called the Concept Flow and it allows learners to access prior knowledge and build on their learning. Concept Flows are both progressive (easiest to most difficult) and logical.


7. The Progression of the Learning Sequence

This is the arrangement of activities and learning experiences organised into a coherent, progressive sequence, allowing learning to be built on and re-visited through the integration of subjects over the course of the theme.


8. The Progression of Time Machine

Time Machine is a system that encourages recall by enabling pupils to travel through time to revisit prior learning, with the aid of short animated film clips. 


9. The Progression of Subject Vocabulary

Subject domain vocabulary is systematically taught and built upon across all the Learning Pathways.


10. The Progression of the Big Ideas

There are two big ideas of ‘Leadership’ and ‘Discovery’. These strong threads help to develop this curriculum sequence diagonally, as well as horizontally and vertically, through multi-disciplinary learning. 


Ashchurch Primary School
Ashchurch Road,
GL20 8LA




Administrator | Claire Vignaux


[email protected]

Headteacher | Richard Gibson

[email protected]

SENDCo | Emma Bushell

[email protected]


Ashchurch Primary School is committed to providing the very best possible education for all of its pupils within a stimulating, happy and secure environment.